Muscles and mussels

I am entering the phase of a new adventure-traveling across the country with my partner who is off to study wines. We decided to make a few stops to visit loved ones and eat food. Our first stop: the lovely city of Pittsburgh.

Pittsburgh has become more popular in recent years, having been named one of the most livable cities in the US. I lived there after college for a few years and have always had a soft spot for my first self created home. It has such a community feel to it. Small businesses support each other while trying to make the city an even more creative space and it is so cheap!

Every trip to Pittsburgh requires a stop at Point Brugge, a restaurant in the Point Breeze area of the city. Point Brugge has hands down the BEST mussels I have EVER had. I was curious ,having not been there in a few years, if the mussels would be as good as I remembered them since expanding my palate. I was happy that they were and that my partner who is very critical of all foods devoured them as well. Of course as he says “anything that is one part flavor and two parts cream is bound to be delicious.” We ate them so fast that I forgot to take a picture to share.

Riding in the car for 10 to 15 hours a day is surprisingly hard on the body. I decided to try to keep myself healthy by enlisting on the couch to 5k program. I have never been a runner but was inspired when a friend of me told me she started running marathons after following the 9 week regiment. I am only on week two and very skeptical as I am usually out of breath by the end of a minute and a half but stick it out until he end anyway. I have to run off that two thirds cream after all.

Food for tonight: Southern fried chicken in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Next stop: somewhere between here and Colorado.

20140501-145608.jpg

Leave a Reply

