Atole “Champurrado”

IMG_1969

I love mexican food! I have been to Mexico three times now but it was not until about a year ago that I first had Atole. Atole is a popular corn based drink that is commonly seen around Christmas time. I was in a restaurant in New York with some friends from Oaxaca and Mexico City and they ordered atole. One sip and I was hooked. Since then I have been wracking my brain trying to remember the name when I came across it on an article this morning. I knew I had to make it. Having researched a few recipes I decided upon combining a few and came up with this one. I opted to add spicy chocolate to my drink making it Champurrado. A nice alternative to coffee or tea in the morning or a less caffeinated way to enjoy a hot drink before bedtime. 

  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of cashew milk
  • 30 grams of chile chocolate
  • 2 Tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup Maseca Corn Flour
  1. Make a slurry by whisking together the water and flour until homogenous, set aside.
  2. In a saucepan bring to a boil the milk and cashew milk.
  3. Once boiling add the chocolate, cinnamon stick and agave and stir until the chocolate is melted.
  4. Add the slurry mixture and cook about 10 minutes until slurry is cooked and drink is thickened

Serve Hot.

 

 

One thought on “Atole “Champurrado”

Leave a Reply

